From the point of view of yoga and meditationChakras are centers of energy in your body. They are the heart of communication between your mind, your body, and your spirit. They interact with your physiological and neurological systems.  

The Sanskrit  word Chakra means "wheel" or "disc". You can think of Chakras or in other words "visualize" Chakras  as wheels of energy in your body. There are hundreds of them in your body, but the major ones are 7 chakras that run through your spine from the base of it to the crown of your head. Each of these 7 Chakras has its own frequency vibration, its own color, and is responsible for specific function in your body. They push vital life energy.

This energy system could become unbalanced. An unbalance (under-active or overactive) Chakra could cause physical, emotional, and spiritual disorders. In an ideal world, your Chakras should be balanced so that the energy flows freely through them and thus awaken you to the spiritual world. When your Chakras are balanced you can achieve your highest spiritual, mental, and physical competence.


The Seven Chakras 
  • The 1st Chakra - Root Chakra - Muladhara

The first Chakra in Sanskrit Muladhara means  "root basis". It is located at the very base of your spine, near your tailbone, and visualized as a red color. The root Chakra connect you with the grounding energy of the earth. Its element is the earth. The seed sound is Lam (pronounced "lum")

Function: It has to do with your sense of security and survival; making money and obtaining food. Also, your feelings of stability and grounding.

Endocrine gland: Adrenaline Glands

Body part associations: Legs, Butt

When your 1st Chakra is balanced, you will feel safe, secure, grounded, and tend to worry less about the day to day stuff. You have a sense of achievement and peace when you think about things like money, safety and shelter.

If your 1st Chakra is overactive, you may be very materialistic and greedy. You are probably obsessed with financial security and resist the changes. Obsession with money.

When your 1st Chakra is under-active, You may be space out, lack of focus and discipline, ungrounded, day dreamer, trouble concentrating, disconnected from the world around you. You may be depress. Have trouble obtaining financial security. Low energy, fear, worries, anxiety, victim's attitude.

  • The 2nd Chakra - Sacral Chakra - Svadhishana

The second Chakra in Sanskrit Svadhishana means  "your own place". It is located two inches below your navel, and visualized as a orange color. The sacral Chakra  is also known as the creativity and sexual Chakra. Its element is the water. The seed sound is Vam.

Function: This Chakra brings you creative energy to enjoy life. It has to do with your sexuality, your emotions, and your creativity.

When your 2nd Chakra is balanced, you feel happy, centered, you are creative, you have healthy attitude about sex.

If your 2nd Chakra is overactive, you may be addict to sex, promiscuity, sexual dysfunction, lust, manipulative, demanding, possessive in relationship, depression or addiction.

When your 2nd Chakra is under-active, you may be fear of pleasure, sexually blocked, fear of closeness in relationship, insecurity, creatively blocked.

  • The 3rd Chakra - Solar Plexus Chakra - Manipura

The third Chakra in Sanskrit Manipura means  "seat of gems ". It is located upper part of the belly, and visualized as a yellow color. The solar plexus Chakra  is also known as the will, personal power Chakra.  It is the energy center that moves you into action. Its element is fire. The seed sound is Ram.

Function: This Chakra brings your personal power. It gives you the force to move forward and make your personal desires and intentions true.

When your 3rd Chakra is balanced, you feel in touch with your own personal power, you are confident, you have will power and purpose, self esteem.

If your 3rd Chakra is overactive, you may be impulsive, temperamental, explosive, controlling, arrogant, always looking for recognition and approval.

When your 3rd Chakra is under-active, you may have low self esteem, sense of powerlessness, have not discipline, lack of control.

  • The 4th Chakra - Heart Chakra - Anahata

The fourth Chakra in Sanskrit Anahata means  "unstruck ". It is located close to the heart in the center of the chest, and visualized as a green color. The heart Chakra  is also known as the compassion and unconditional love Chakra.  Its element is air/breath. The seed sound is Yam.

Function: This Chakra is associated with feelings of love. Selfless relationships: Giving and receiving, compassion and acceptance to yourself and others.

Endocrine gland: Thymus Gland

Body part associations: Heart, chest, breast, lungs, arms, hands, upper back.

When your 4th Chakra is balanced, you are able to give and receive love, compassionate, nurturing. Love others and yourself unconditionally, self acceptance, in touch with your emotions, able to maintain healthy relationships, peaceful, balanced, harmonious.

If your 4thChakra is overactive, Love too much, possessive, jealous, controlling in relationship, need to rescue others.

When your 4th Chakra is under-active, Fear rejection, feel unlovable, lonely, difficulty relating to others, inability to forgive, lacks of compassion, emotionally cold and distant.

  • The 5th Chakra - Throat Chakra - Vishuddha

The fifth Chakra in Sanskrit Vishuddha means  "purity ". It is located at the base of the throat, and visualized as a light blue color. The throat Chakra  is also known as the seat of communication and truth.  Its element is sound. The seed sound is Ham.